Tales from a lactose free family…making butter now :)

Ok so first of all let me start by saying we are lactose intolerant and love butter, cheese and ice cream. Now we try to make our own things so that we can eat it and enjoy it without getting sick. About a year ago my mom found Lactase drops on Amazon. They are added to milk products and after 24 hours the lactose is turned into sugar so that it will not bother you if you are lactose intolerant.   http://www.amazon.com/Lactase-Drops-15-Supplement-Servings/dp/B003VSTRY8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391187689&sr=8-1&keywords=lactose+drops. I add these to a gallon of milk and 24 hours later we can drink regular milk. This saves us half the money when we do it this way instead of buying lactaid milk. So on to the butter. I bought heavy whipping cream, placed it my kitchen aid mixer, added a tsp of salt, turned it on high and covered it to reduce the mess.

Image

This took about 25 minutes and I checked it every 5 minutes to make sure it was looking ok. At this point I didn’t know what I was looking for because it looked like whipped cream…which it was. I kept it going because i had faith that it WOULD work 🙂 I knew that the butter was supposed to separate from the buttermilk. Finally it started separating and I took my large sifter dumped the the butter/buttermilk into it so that it skimmed the milk off of it. I took the butter and placed it into a container and poured the buttermilk into the another one. So for 3.39 I got a large portion of butter and half a quart of buttermilk…not bad if I do say so myself and totally worth my 25 minutes.

Image

Image

Go for it! GIve it a try and the butter tastes amazing 🙂 If I can do it you can too. And it’s lactose free!!! It will also work without the lactase drops.

Leave a Reply

