Mayonnaise and Mustard HOMEMADE!

Ok as I start off this day let me say I felt motivated to get things made and when it took less than 30 MINUTES I was shocked, surprised and a little dissapointed that I was done so quickly. These are homemade things that I have overpaid for for years and it should be more difficult right….Nope done in 30 and only because i kept moving my stuff from one counter to the other.

So off we go first up,

Mayonnaise

1/2 tsp dry mustard powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 eggs

2 tbl vinegar

2 cups vegetable oil

ImageImage

In a food processor or blender, combine mustard powder, salt, eggs and vinegar on medium slowly drizzle the oil in the processor while it is running. When everything is blended well you are done….this took 5 minutes and as an added note tastes great! This lasts two weeks in the fridge.

Image

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/whole-egg-mayonnaise/detail.aspx

On to the Mustard This one was a little trickier considering you are cooking it.

1/2 cup white vinegar

1/2 cup water

1 beef bullion cube

2 eggs

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cups dry mustard

1 tbs flour

1/4 tsp salt

(To make things easier)

Beat your two eggs

combine brown sugar, dry mustard, flour and salt together.

ImageImage

Then begin:

Simmer water, vinegar, and bullion cube. Once everything is dissolved, beat your two eggs and add them to the mixture. Add your brown sugar mixture to your simmering pan and whisk until it thickens. After everything was thick and cooked i put mine in the food processor just to make it more smooth. This lasts two months in the fridge.

Image

http://homefront.prudentliving.com/frugal-tips-homemade-mustard/

Oddly enough all of these ingredients were already in my pantry so I am not sure if I spent anything to make these haha. I am assuming if I added everything up it would be cheaper to make them at home. The taste better that is for sure. The mustard does have a sweet flavor to it and next time I might try more traditional mustard but didn’t have mustard seeds and I wasn’t wasting gas to go get some 🙂 It wouldn’t be saving money now would it. As always Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

